How filing for unemployment made me a better writer—and person.

Paul Kix
5 min readFeb 6, 2023

And influenced the book I was writing.

Photo by Jad Limcaco on Unsplash

You don’t have to see the whole staircase. You just have to take the first step.

Keep that in mind. Because I’m going to tell a story. A story that began a long time ago and ends today.

It ends well. I’ll give away the close up top. But to understand how it could have ended any other way I need to take you back to the beginning.

That would be January of 2021. I’d been laid off from ESPN six weeks prior, in November of 2020, but in January of ’21 my last paycheck from ESPN hit my bank account and I, under advice from my accountant, filed for unemployment.

That unnerved me. I’d vowed to bet on myself and make it on my own as a writer and entrepreneur, but something about filing for unemployment shook the foundation of what I thought I was building in my self-employment.

Who was I kidding? Did I really think I could make it on my own?

These were the questions that lingered behind every unemployment check I received in the weeks and months that followed, questions that, frankly, followed me every morning to my laptop, too, when I opened it and sat down to do work.

--

--

Paul Kix

Best-selling author of The Saboteur. Learn the 7 rules six-figure writers follow to make more money: https://paulkixnewsletter.lpages.co/seven-tips-pdf/